Koe No Katachi(A Silent Voice)

samarpan mandal
2 min readJun 27, 2021

--

A Silent Voice (2016) movie poster
A Silent Voice(2016)

Like any other slice-of-life anime, the plot is relatively simple, however there is an outstanding attention to the development of the characters.

As usual for Naoko Yamada, most of the scenes and dialogue from the manga are present, however she adds so much more to the anime, making it a truly emotional experience.

The story is very mature, not in the sense that it is dark and gritty, but more in the sense that the characters are fully realized, presented in a realistic manner.

A Silent Voice forgoes anime archetypes by maintaining internal-consistency in all of its characters, making all of their actions relatable, or at least understandable.

It is difficult to describe why the audio-visuals work so well using just words.

I found the film to be a powerful, transformative experience.

Story(9)The story has many resemblance of teenagers life and I got to say, this has caught my heart. i see this movie that gave tears of joy like Kimi no na wa with a very beautifully written story with me keeping flashbacks about the same situation i have encountered once, and i am here with so much emotion being mellow and grateful thinking of my friends i have made in the years. i am no disabled but I, we(maybe some) might experience this.

Art(10)
The art has yet to impressive me because of how beautifully has this been worked on which makes me think that Kyoto animation might rival with ufotable in my opinion.

Sound(10)
This is the most emotional thing i have heard, the spiking, the beautiful and the dramatic OST has caught my ears ever since i watched the trailer and it almost send me to an immediate tears, they have spiked my body and has gave me so much emotion from this work.

Character(8)
Characters are not perfect but very well played in their roles, the character development was amazing and how they brave shown their relationship and how it was resolved but to think of it that there are some being left out much but overall, their development and actions are both entertaining.

Enjoyment(10)
My now personal favorite movie that i would like to watch over again. It have have joy, Laughs, Tears and on how these emotions has played in the movie was amazing, it feels like i was in there but sure some romantic parts are not serious but it is one of the best experience i had in a very long time.

Overall(10)
Flaws are always there but never i have ever gave a review with an overall ten because in my opinion, it is beautiful and no matter how many times i said it is beautiful, it is and this has quite gave an impact into my life right now and i will never forget this very soon.

--

--